ACTION ALERT – Protect Mississippi River St. Anthony Falls Area – PUBLIC HEARINGS

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ACTION ALERT – Protect Mississippi River St. Anthony Falls Area – PUBLIC HEARINGS

February 5 @ 4:30 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on February 5, 2019 at 4:30pm

St. Anthony Falls Area Action Alert

Contact Decision-makers Today – Urge Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission to Vote to Protect the “Power of the Falls” Riverfront Area

Vote to Deny the “Certificate of Appropriateness” for 311 2nd Street SE – Doran/CSM Development

Vote to Grow with Integrity and Enhance our Nationally Significant St. Anthony Falls Historic District

Speak Up at the Public Hearings Jan. 22 and Feb. 5, 4:30 pm

Issue:

Despite a 15-17 story height maximum, Doran/CSM is proposing a 32-story tower for its 311 2nd Street SE project, transforming two full city blocks between Second Street and University Avenue.  The site is next to the Pillsbury A Mill complex, a National Historic Landmark, in the St. Anthony Falls Historic District’s Water Power Character Area, where the historic mill buildings define the district on both banks of the Mississippi River.  The 32-story tower would dwarf the historic industrial buildings surrounding the Pillsbury A Mill, now prominent features in the protected “key viewshed” from the Mill City Museum and Stone Arch Bridge.

Decision by Heritage Preservation Commission:

Any development at that site requires a “certificate of appropriateness” from the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission (HPC) before seeking other zoning approvals.  The developer has described other options for this site that meet the 15-17 story height maximum, protect key views, and offer the same density.

Thirty-two story building – NPS visual impact example

15-17 story building – NPS visual impact example

Urgency – January 22 and February 5:

The HPC holds a public hearing on this project on January 22 at 4:30, and a second public hearing on February 5 at 4:30.  Both meetings are in Room 317, City Hall, 350 South 5th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415.

Message for Decision-Makers:

Contact HPC members, City Council members, and Mayor Jacob Frey today:

1.      Vote to deny the certificate of appropriateness for the current proposal, which violates the city-approved St. Anthony Falls Historic District Guidelines

2.      Vote to ask the developer to submit a project proposal that preserves the integrity of the St. Anthony Falls Historic District by meeting historic district guidelines, including honoring the Red Tile Elevator maximum height (15-17 stories) and meeting visual impact requirements

Vote to Protect the “Power of the Falls” and Grow with Integrity

·        Support growing with integrity – development that enhances our international destination on the Mississippi and preserves the dominance of the twin milling districts, each with its National Historic Landmark mill.

·        Affirm past public and private investment of over $2 billion in this historic district and welcome future public and private investments honoring the district’s integrity.

·        Set a precedent for protecting this place, integrating the city’s oldest neighborhood with Mississippi riverfront history and parks.

People to Contact:

Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission – Clerk Lisa Kusz – 612.673.3710 lisa.kusz@minneapolismn.gov

city council 1 Kevin Reich kevin.reich@minneapolismn.gov
city council 2 Cam Gordon cam.gordon@minneapolismn.gov
City Council 3 Steve Fletcher steve.fletcher@minneapolismn.gov City Council member for this area
city council 4 Phillipe Cunningham Phillipe.cunningham@minneapolismn.gov
city council 5 Jeremiah Ellison jeremiah.ellison@minneapolismn.gov
city council 6 Abdi Warsame abdi.warsame@minneapolismn.gov
city council 7 Lisa Goodman lisa.goodman@minneapolismn.gov
city council 8 Andrea Jenkins andrea.jenkins@minneapolismn.gov
city council 9 Alondra Cano alondra.cano@minneapolismn.gov
city council 10 Lisa Bender lisa.bender@minneapolismn.gov
city council 11 Jeremy Schroeder jeremy.schroeder@minneapolismn.gov Chair of Zoning and Planning Committee
city council 12 Andrew Johnson andrew.johnson@minneapolismn.gov
city council 13 Linea Palmisano linea.palmisano@minneapolismn.gov
Mayor Jacob Frey jacob.frey@minneapolismn.gov Mayor

Interested in helping more?

Please let me know.  Marcy-Holmes Neighborhood Association has a “Power of the Falls” – East Bank Development Task Force to engage community members on private and public investments in this area in 2019.

Questions or suggestions?

Please let me know – thank you!

Cordelia “Corde” Pierson

Mississippi River Parkway Commissioner, Metro Region and Vice Chair

651-815-1268 cell

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/cordelia-pierson/11/690/154

https://www.facebook.com/cordelia.pierson

Details

Date:
February 5
Time:
4:30 pm

Venue

Minneapolis City Hall
350 S 5th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55415 United States
+ Google Map